2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award Nominations Announced

AstridLindgrenMemorialAward_logoThe ALMA 2015 nominations were announced today at the Frankfurt Book Fair – 197 of them from 61 countries, including 50 first-time nominees. You can download the complete list here (listed by country). The jury are going to have their work cut out!

Just looking at the list quickly overall, most European countries seem to be represented; Asia on the other hand, less so – Murti Bunanta from Indonesia; Katsumi Komagata and Kyoko Matsuoka from Japan; So Yong Gwang from the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (a first-time nominee); Heena Baek from the Republic of Korea; Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio and Neni Sta. Romana-Cruz from the Philippines; and Jimmy Liao from Taiwan are the only individuals nominated, along with several organisations – Tai Wisdom Association in Thailand, Kelompok Pencinta Bacaan Anak in Indonesia – not to mention all five nominations from India (and all wonderful organisations…): A & A Book Trust, Katha, Pratham Books, Tara Books, and (a first-time nominee).

…and there are nominees from three African countries: Raouf Karray from Tunisia (a first-time nominee); Niki Daly, Piet Grobler and Beverley Naidoo, as well as the PRAESA organisation from South Africa; and the Labuto Library Project in Zambia.

I could go on, but do take a look at the list for yourselves – some names will be familiar, others are waiting to be explored.  And some authors/illustrators will be very hard to discover, which is when I decry the lack of  books translated into English on offer in the UK/US markets…

Congratulations to all the nominees – now we have to wait until 31st March to find out who the winner will be.  In the meantime, find out more about the Award and all the winners since the prize began in 2003.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.